Goodbye For Now Chocolate

Today is THE day people. Its Febuary 17th which means its Ash Wednesday. For those of you who don’t know what Ash Wednesday is, it marks the start of Lent, the period of fasting for Catholics and some Christians. During Lent you choose something that you are going to give up for 40 days and 40 nights, or in other words until Easter Sunday. Now when you choose something to give up it can’t be something bad or negative, for example “I’m going to give up being a bitch  to my coworker for Lent” because that’s something that you shouldn’t do to begin with. Its supposed to be something that you love, or that you can’t live without. A part of your life that you will notice when its gone. Now people who know me know that I am not the most devout person in the world. I don’t go to church every Sunday and its been awhile since I’ve opened my bible, but nevertheless Lent is something that I like to do. For me its not just about religion. Its about proving to myself that I can do it. Last year I went vegetarion for Lent and gave up meat, and for those of you who don’t know, that was hard for me considering steak and hamburgers are my favorite foods. I’m American like that. This year I’ve chosen to give up something just as dear to me… chocolate. I am a total sugar addict and chocolate is my number one fix, so making it through this will be an amazing accomplishment for me. And if you think I’m exaggerating you are most definitely underestimating my addiciton. lol. Even though today is only the first day I feel like chocolate is all around me, trying to tempt me. I can already tell that this is going to be hard, but I’ll stick it out.

Leave a Reply

