Give it a chance.

So, I’m not a very big fan of Norwegian music, or the Norwegian language in general. Most of the dialects that are spoken in Norway sound so weird, and don’t really flow if you ask me. But there is one dialect that I actually do like (2 actually but today we are focusing on 1). Its called the Trønder dialect. And its awesome. The song below is in that dialect and I just love it. The song its self has amazing lyrics (which I have been so kind to translate for you… very rough translation though), but it flows better in Norwegian that English. But I do recommend that you listen to the song even if you can’t understand Norwegian just so you can hear the dialect.

Det kan itj værra sant
Den beste tida skull' jo komma no
Vi hadd fortsatt mytji mer te go'
Æ va itj forberedt på det herre
Æ kan itj nå dæ no
Det e live sjøl som gir oss sånne slag
Men æ ska lell få sagt det no i dag
Du vil bli her for bestandig
Æ savne dæ no og det vi itj skull' få
Men minnan du har gitt mæ
ska æ ta godt vare på
Æ vil tenk på alt det fine vi hadd' sammen
Den gang vi trudd' vi kunn' klar alt
Æ vil tenk på alt det fine vi hadd' sammen
'No sjer æ dæ i ett og alt
Vi hadd' ei herlig tid
Skull' så gjern' ha gjort alt om igjen
Glad for at æ fikk ha dæ som venn
Vi levd livet mens vi gjor det
Æ savne dæ no og det vi itj skull' få
Men minnan du har gitt mæ
ska æ ta godt vare på
Æ vil tenk på alt det fine vi hadd' sammen
Den gang vi trudd' vi kunn' klar alt
Æ vil tenk på alt det fine vi hadd' sammen
'No sjer æ dæ i ett og alt
Æ savne dæ no og det vi itj skull' få
Men minnan du har gitt mæ
ska æ ta godt vare på
Æ vil tenk på alt det fine vi hadd' sammen
Den gang vi trudd' vi kunn' klar alt
Æ vil tenk på alt det fine vi hadd' sammen
'No sjer æ dæ i ett og alt

It can’t be true.
The best of times were supposed to come now.
We still had a lot more to do.
I wasn’t prepared for this.
I can’t reach you now.
It’s life itself that give us these kinds of wounds.
But I’ll say this anyways today.
You will be here forever.
I miss you now, and what we will never get.
But the memories you gave me, I’ll take care of.
I want to think about the good times we had together.
The times we thought we could do anything.
I want to think about the good times we had together.
Now I see you everywhere.
We had an awesome time.
I wish we could do it all again.
I’m glad that I got to have you as a friend.
We lived life, as we did it.
I miss you now, and what we will never get.
But the memories you gave me, I’ll take care of.
I want to think about the good times we had together.
The times we thought we could do anything.
I want to think about the good times we had together.
Now I see you everywhere.
I miss you now, and what we will never get.
But the memories you gave me, I’ll take care of.
I want to think about the good times we had together.
The times we thought we could do anything.
I want to think about the good times we had together.
Now I see you everywhere.
2 comments on “Give it a chance.

  1. I love Power Ballads, and this is an excellent example – no matter what the language! I am curious though. Do all Norwegians understand the various dialects, the way all Americans can understand the various English dialects? 🙂

  2. For the most part, yeah they do. But there are some phrases in the dialects where you have to ask “What the hell are you talking about?” lol. For example, there is a city in Norway called Verdal. In “normal” Norwegian we call a piece of bread “brødskive”, but in Verdal they say “kakskiv”. First of all “kakskiv” is nothing like “brødskive”, and secondly in “normal” norwegian “kakshiv” it actually means a piece of cake. So its little things like that that you have to get used to. But once you hear it a couple times you just know.

Leave a Reply

