Discussion Time

Pro-choice or pro-life?

I realize that this is a touchy subject for some people, but I want to hear what you guys have to say.

Personally I am pro-choice. I think it is a woman’s right to choose what she does with her own body. If she doesn’t feel like she is ready to be a mother, she shouldn’t be condemned by people for making a choice that effects them in no way whatsoever. A lot of people say that if you are not ready to be a mother you shouldn’t get pregnant, and all I can say is that accidents happen. Things don’t always work out the way we want, and all we can do is deal the way we think is best. For some people that is abortion. For those who think that adoption is the answer for the people who aren’t ready to be a mother, I don’t understand it. If you are a man that holds that opinion, shut up because you will never understand what its like to be pregnant. If your a woman, just think about it. Would you want to spend 9 months pregnant and go through hours of painful birth to give up the baby at the end? I realize that some people can do it, but I also know that I would never be able to do that.

I’m not here to try to change anybody’s view on abortion, just to say mine and hear your opinion. If you have something to say, that is.

Oh and btw. I’m not pregnant and wondering if I should have an abortion or not. Its just something I wanted to discuss.

6 comments on “Discussion Time

  1. I try to speak only for myself, and always after doing my best to envision a situation from perspectives other than my own. With that being said, a baby growing inside a woman is nothing less than a parasitic organism that feeds off it’s host for it’s own ends. So the decision to allow it to continue should be based solely on the woman’s desire to allow it, with full understanding of what that means. To insist that a woman has a duty to allow it is obscene. On the other hand, the fact that it is a life necessitates that I consider repeated abortions merely for the sake of convenience to be immoral. A person who is capable of deciding that the burden of child birth is too much is certainly capable of understanding the need for contraception and how to use it.

    • I agree with you on the multiple abortion thing. Women who use it as birth control annoy me. There are much better types of contraception that aren’t as life changing as abortion is.

  2. In my opinion, a baby will be born if the process were to be taken out, and if an abortion took place that baby would still have been born. I don’t consider it murder, but a life has been taken away. And usually when a mother goes through with an abortion it is something that follows them for a long time. The subconscious is a powerful thing.

    • I don’t necessarily agree with you on the whole taking a life thing. I think that at a certain point in the pregnancy it can be considered an acutal human being, but by then abortion is illeagal. In the beginning it is, like izaakmak said, a parasite. But that is just my opinion. But I do agree with you about how it sticks with the person for a long time. You would have to be emotionally dead not to feel something after having an abortion.

  3. If I did get a girl pregnant, which would not happen, I would do whatever she wanted to do. It is her body, but I do think once that baby starts to develop I would have a problem stopping that process. There are many families out there that want children, so if something did happen and the mother did not want to raise the kid I would want her to at least consider adoption. Just my two cents.

    • I totally understand where you’re coming from, and in theory adoption seems like the best solution. But its physically and emotionally draining for a woman to be pregnant. And expecting her to go through that is a bit unfair. I know that there are women who do do that, but not everyone would be able to tackle that and they shouldn’t be judged for that.

      Like I said, I’m pro-choice. I think people should be able to choose for themselves. My biggest problem are the people who judge them for their choices. Its all good and dandy if you are against abortion for yourself, but I don’t think that gives you the right to condemn the people who aren’t.

Leave a Reply

