Old Habits Die Hard

I don’t know about most people, but I am a total creature of habit. I didn’t even realize how habitual I was until today.

Here’s the sitch.

My morning can go one of two ways.

Scenario One:
(I have class at 8:15)
Alarm goes off a six, snooze twice. Get up at 6:20 to turn on my straightner and room heater cause its fuckin cold. Check my email and facebook. Go to the bathroom and brush my teeth. Back to the room, turn on music and straighten my hair. Make-up, then outfit and catch the bus at 7:30.
Since the stores don’t open until 8 I have to buy breakfast at school, which is more or less always a yoghurt and a cup of coffee. And I small talk with the lady or man who works there while I pay. I then go to class and listen to lectures until 4. After that my day varies depending on the day of the week.

Scenario Two:
(I have class at 10)
Alarm goes off a eight, snooze twice. Get up at 8:20 to turn on my straightner and room heater cause its fuckin cold. Check my email and facebook. Go to the bathroom and brush my teeth. Back to the room, turn on music and straighten my hair. Make-up, then outfit and catch the bus at 9:30.
Since the stores are open, I buy breakfast there. Always the same store, almost always the same cashier. Almost always a banana and a chocolate milk (sometimes a muffin). I get to class and listen to lectures until 4. After that my day varies depending on the day of the week.

Do you see how similar my days are? I never realized how much of the same thing I do every.

My moment of clarity came to me this morning when I went to buy breakfast from the school cafeteria. The lady that I normally small talk with asked me where I was monday and thursday last week. It was weird to see that I am so into my habits that she realized I wasn’t there.

That made me stop to think.

Tomorrow I think I’ll try something different.

4 comments on “Old Habits Die Hard

    • What I meant by changing it up was that I would buy my breakfast from a different store tomorrow. hehe. Like I said, old habits die hard. It would drive me crazy if I changed too much at once.

  1. Some habits are useful like flossing, brushing your teeth and other menial tasks.
    I believe it’s good to challenge ourselves with other things.
    Example. Order different food at a restaurant.
    Listen to different style of music.
    Engage conversation with people who are different from us.
    Take a new road or new bus to go to school… if possible.
    Read new books on unusual sujects.
    Read new magazines.
    Visit museums once in a while even if you like it, just to expose yourself to new ideas.
    Wathever gets you out of your comfort zone.
    We must also do it INTENTIONNALY while being aware.

    • I didn’t even realize, until reading your comment, that I even walk the same exact streets to get to school everyday even though I could probably get there 100 different ways.
      I’m might need to make more of an effort to change a couple small things once in awhile. If I did it to often I would go insane though. There is a certain amount of comfort in routines.

Leave a Reply

