We’re all made of stardust!

As I have mentioned before, I work as a math tutor for junior high and high school students. Once a month we arrange a student-night and have a guest speaker come and do experiments with the kids, trying to get them more interested in science and physics.

This month we were visited by a very popular norwegian physicist named Andreas Wahl [see below], who put on a science show for us called ‘The Universe in 42 Minutes’.

He started of his show by explaining where the universe comes from, and that if we really think about it, ‘we’re all made from stardust’. By this time, I would guess that about 85-90% of the girls in the room had found their new crush. I would be lying if I said I didn’t find him fascinating myself.

After that, he did a bunch of fun little experiments, like getting a swim cap on with no muscle force by filling it with water, making two connected hearts by cutting to rings of paper without lifting the scissors, money that survives fire by dousing it in a mixture of alcohol and water, a potato launcher and a newer version of the tablecloth experiment.

All in all, it was a very entertaining show. If I wasn’t already interested in science and math, he would definitely be the one to convince me.

6 comments on “We’re all made of stardust!

  1. I was a math tutor for 7/8th graders when I was a senior in high school. It was kinda ironic because I was skipped ahead in 7th grade so I never actually took 7/8th grade math courses.

  2. The problem was I was trying to teach them the high school short cuts. Since I knew how to get the answers but not the 7/8th grade way.

Leave a Reply

